General information

Wallonia - Walloon Region

Le drapeau de la Wallonie Walloon Flag

Emblème héraldique de la Wallonie Heraldic emblem of Wallonia


Wallonia in Western Europe  

Wallonia in Western Europe

Anthem: Le Chant des Wallons [The Song of the Walloons]
National Day: the third Sunday in September
Floral emblem: the blanket flower
Official award: the Walloon Merit


Constitutional form: Federated region of Belgium, single chamber parliamentary system based on proportional representation.
Minister-President of the Government : Paul Magnette
Speaker of the Parliament : André Antoine
Official languages : French, German* (in nine municipalities in the east, forming the German-speaking Community)
Capital : Namur - 50° 28′ N  4° 52′ E / 50.4667, 4.8667 


 Largest cities: Charleroi, Liège, Namur, Mons, La Louvière, Tournai, Seraing, Mouscron, Verviers
Total surface area: 16,903 km²
Time zone: UTC +1 (winter time), UTC+2 (summer time)


 57 B.C. Julius Caesar conquers Gaul, the start of a deep Romanisation. The Germans call their Gallic, then Gallo-Roman neighbours by the name "Walha".
 5th century End of the Roman Empire, Walloon lands are at the centre of the Kingdom of the Franks
 8th century Birth of the Empire of Charlemagne
9th to 14th centuries Feudal fragmentation of the "Walloon" principalities
 15th century Burgundian unification
 16th to 18th centuries Independent Principality of Liège, the remaining Walloon country is ruled by the Spanish Netherlands (until 1714) then the Austrian Netherlands (until 1794)
 1795-1815 Walloon counties within the French Republic then the French Empire
 1815-1830 Walloon Provinces within the Kingdom of the Netherlands
 1830 Belgian revolution, Walloon Provinces within the Kingdom of Belgium
 1844 Charles-Joseph Grandgagnage coins the term "Wallonia" to denote the land of the Walloons
 1897-1914 Early days of the Walloon movement, affirmation of the Walloon identity and the start of calls for autonomy
 1932 The administration establishes the linguistic border, official recognition of Wallonia's monolingualism
 1962 Definitive establishment of the linguistic border
 1970 Creation of the Walloon Region in the Constitution
 1980  Actual creation of the Region through the implementation of its institutions (Government and Parliament)
 1988 Transfer of new powers to Wallonia
 1993 Official federalisation of Belgium, transfer of new powers to Wallonia, direct election of its parliament
 2001 Transfer of new powers to Wallonia
 2014 Transfer of new powers to Wallonia, extension of its fiscal autonomy


Demonym: Walloon (man, woman)
Total population (2015): 3,589,744 inhabitants
Density: 212 inhabitants/km²


  Currency: Euro 


 ISO 3166-2 Code: BE-WAL 
International code: +32